RSS Feed

I’m not weird, I’m Autistic!

Posted on

I wrote this on my other blog…the one that I always forget that I have. I know that it’s not business/product related, but when I stumbled upon it today, it made me cry. I was writing about my, now 15 yr old, son about a month before his little brother was diagnosed with cancer. I just thought I’d share.

Prappleye's Blog

It’s fair to say that my son, R, is one of the smartest, sweetest, most considerate people that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Some of that comes from his upbringing & the influence of his role models here in the home, over his last 12 years. However, I think I have to thank Autism for the rest.
Autism. It is considered, by many, something to cure, something to treat, something to study & analyze. R thinks of it as something that makes him special. It is something that we live with. Everyday there are challenges, not just for R. Everyday there are things not to be easily understood, not just for R. More than half of the children that I meet in the schools are struggling with something. Some of them it’s socially, like my guy. Some of them it’s reading or math or writing. Only a…

View original post 575 more words

About prappleye

I am the mother of 2 teenage boys a li'l toddler mud-skippin' princess. I'm a truth-seeking, peace-loving Unitarian Universalist, with an over-opinionated big mouth (& big brain to match). I'm married to my best friend! Just started my own business, I teach sexuality education, I am a part-time administrator, I am the Religious Education Coordinator at my church (www.glacieruu.org), I am a special ed para-educator, specializing in autistic students. We love big, reuse, recycle, eat (reasonably) healthy, enjoy life, respect every living creature, & live in the last best place! Life is so good, & so exciting!!

One response »

  1. Jill ALEXANDER

    I saw a wonderful film recently, Snowcake, about an adult with autism and much more. The cast and direction were superb, and if it occasionally dropped into some sentimentality, it was forgivable given the flow of the events. Perhaps you might want to see it, it’s available at NetFlix. If you’re not a member of NetFlix, I can get if for you to watch. I was reminded of the movie reading your lovely and loving piece on Ryan, because one of the pieces of dialogue in the film goes like this: He (with exasperation) “You are unreasonable.” She (quick comeback) “I am not unreasonable, I’m autistic.” He “Same thing.” But it goes a bit deeper than that. She is Sigourney Weaver in a role against all her others. He is Alan Rickman, a very sexy (to me) Brit. Its a Canadian film, and I often find them more engaging than American ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

